My Carnival with Fatboy Slim… Part 1

Carnival is a huge celebration party in Brazil, and I started partying in Carnival when I was 13 years old. Yep, long time ago. This is one of many stories I have…

The year was 2007, February month. Three months before I moved to the USA, my last carnival in Brazil. I spent carnival at the beach with good friends. We had tickets to go see Fatboy Slim that Saturday night. We were so excited that even the pouring rain didn’t let us down!

Fatboy Slim’s concert was in this ginormous open area. At night, we’re all ready to go, no matter the rain. I wore  top, shorts and wedges. Once we got there around midnight, the fun really begun. Since it was carnival, there were people from all over the country, making it a very interesting crowd. We met a lot of new people while we waited for the man himself. Before him, other very good DJs played. The rain just contributed for the whole experience, to the vibe of that night. It was the cherry on top! The only downside? The floor was all muddy.

I’m a huge fan of electronic music, almost all genres, so to have had the chance to see Fatboy Slim in Brazil was one the best things I’ve ever done. Around 2:30am he came on stage. My friends and I danced, talked, laughed a lot, came up with nicknames of the people we met because they were all from different cities. Those nicknames were given after touristic places from the cities people were from. It is a night I won’t forget ever, especially because of the ending… Fatboy finished playing close to 5am, so we made our way out. By that time, we were all hungry and our feet dirty. Crossing the street, was the beach and we went there to ‘wash’ our feet. It was a beautiful sunrise.

Our night/morning ended with breakfast and with us going to bed at 10 am! That was definitely one of the best fun nights I have had in a long time!

18-02-07_0038

Picture taken during the concert, all soaked up

**Read this post while listening to “It Won’t Just Do”.

Leave a Reply

